About Us

crane logo“Friends of the Cache River Watershed” is a not-for-profit natural resource conservation organization.

 

Our Mission: To promote the conservation and restoration of renewable natural resources throughout the Cache River Watershed in southern Illinois.

The not-for-profit organization is a local citizen group with objectives to assist private, state, and federal natural resource conservation agencies and interests with watershed planning, administer grants, provide volunteer assistance, to broaden political and public support through outreach and to promote sound programs and practices that will advance the wise use, protection and restoration of renewable natural resources.

A major focus will be funding to enable the implementation of those remedial resource management practices that are highlighted in the Watershed Resource Management Plan. Environmental education will be promoted throughout the watershed. Citizen involvement and participation in conservation projects on public and private lands will be encouraged.

Michael Wolff Memorial Wetland

Michael Wolff Memorial Wetland. Photo: T. Treacy

Accomplishments

  • Restored 5,700 forest acres, 12,265 wetland acres and 31 miles of stream bank in the watershed.
  • Constructed visitor facilities, such as the Hickory Bottom Outdoor Classroom and a wildlife viewing platform at the Bellrose Waterfowl Reserve.
  • Implemented water quality and sediment monitoring projects.
  • Provided support for wetland restoration, construction of riffle weirs and bank stabilization projects.
  • Provided support for restoration of Marshall Ridge/Michael Wolff wetlands and observation area.
  • Assisted with staffing the Cache River Wetlands Center, including assisting with special events and programs.
  • Provided support for research on the neotropical migratory birds in the Cache.

Friends of the Cache River Watershed

Board Members

Lynn Wolff, Chair
Hm: 618-549-7901
Cell: 618-967-1621
lwolff@midwest.net
 
Jean Hinkle, Treasurer
Cell:  618-827-3618
bjhinkle1987@gmail.com
 
Tony Gerard
Cell:  618-771-6636
Ofc:  618-759-2517
tonyg@shawneecc.edu
 
Charlie Proctor
Hm: 270-443-1825
Cell: 270-816-2057
Cproctor1@vzw.blackberry.net
 
Monte Russell
Hm: 618-748-9185
Cell: 618-967-9185
pulcommr@yahoo.com
 
Jodie Delaney
Cell: 618-925-1367
jodied@gmail.com
 
Michael Jeffords
Cell:  217-352-1524
jeffords@illinois.edu
 
John Havlik
Cell:  217-649-1700
jhnhvlk8@gmail.com
 
Paula Havlik
Cell:  217-649-4326
phavlik@illinois.edu
 
Ed Manier
Cell:  618-759-2536
emanier@ajchs.union.k12.il.us
 
Terry Wachter
Cell:  618-889-5658
G3scout@yahoo.com
 
STAFF
Admin Support
Diana Steele
Cell:  618-771-6161
info@friendsofcache.org
 
 
  • Delicious
  • Facebook
  • Reddit
  • StumbleUpon
  • Twitter
  • RSS Feed

Leave a Reply